Nomination For A Nigerian Blog Award!

...Schtum...check...ha schtum...1...2..3...check

Your blog Literati: Satires On Nigerian Life has been nominated under the “Most Unique Voice In a Blog” category at the Nigerian Blog Awards! I am totally feeling like the proverbial red neck agama lizard that leaped from a high wall, landed without breaking anything, and then congratulated itself by nodding its head repeatedly. I have been nodding all day today. And night.

To be nominated for Most Unique Voice is also both awesome and worrisome at the same time – folks who know me would attest to the fact that I have the worst singing voice this part of the world. I have cracked a few bathroom tiles and even caused hot water to freeze solid, singing in the shower. Although I must confess, if I dare say so myself, my telephone voice is said to be much better. I fool myself and others sometimes by answering my cellphone with the conceited greeting “Esco’s residence, who is this?” There is nothing unique about my spoken voice.

If this were a music award ceremony, once they announce the nominees, I would storm the stage with my hangers-on, all of us causing a ruckus even if I did not become the eventual winner. This is that massive for me. Let me give my acceptance speech for the nomination now, so that if I do not eventually win, I would have said my bit “Other blogs are good, but Literati is for the children”

I am very humbled by your support, positive (and olofofo) feed-back and criticisms so far.  Please proceed to the Nigerian Blog Awards page here to cast your vote. There are some truly incredible blogs on there as well, and I have also voted for a couple (not saying who); please do so if you can. The process is simple enough –   you are required fill in the name and email sections, then make your selection (the Unique Voice category is listed at the bottom of the page, and my blog is listed as “Literati: Satires On Nigerian Life”). Once you choose and confirm your choice, you are sent a confirmation email. Kindly confirm your vote by opening the link in the confirmation e-mail. It is as easy as A-B-Chi. It is easier than 1 times table. Please spread the news as well so we can garner as many votes as possible. By the way, people under the ages of 18 can vote too, thankfully (all they need is a valid email addy).

I also want to thank those who have voted already. I am three times as grateful. Ha ha.

What does this mean for Literati: Satires On Nigerian Life, going forward? You have no idea –   more refreshing articles, an increment of  from-the -heart- posts, stories to help get you out of bed for work, break-time banter, urban legends to help relax your mind after a stressful day and naija tales to put you to bed, more Esco, less b.s., more sarcasm, less filler, more original Nigerian content, less knock-offs.  It’s.about.to.go.down.

Pardon me, because recently I have displayed the tendency to force my music tastes or the lyrics of songs which I really fancy on others. As I love but leave you now, please have a listen to one of my best tunes ever by arguably the greatest band of all – “Walk On” by U2.

May the following lines, lyrics from this great song, inspire you, as they have me, and be proof of our concord:

You’re packing a suitcase for a place none of us has been /

A place that has to be believed to be seen /

You could have flown away /

A singing bird in an open cage /

Who will only fly, only fly for freedom/

Walk on, walk on /

What you’ve got they can’t deny it /

Can’t sell it, or buy it /

Walk on, walk on

Stay safe tonight/

Forever,

Esco

8 responses

  1. Hey Esco, I absolutely love the lyrics you post, so don’t stop with that.. I think it is a really ingenious idea and you must have a huge repertoire of songs in your head/ heart! Also you must be old…er to know all these songs😉 Congrats on the nomination.. your posts definitely give me a good break at work… I’m sure some of my colleagues think I’m crazy when they hear me giggling to myself.. problem is I can’t really share it with them.. they won’t understand the Nigerian experience.. but best wishes with the next round of voting.. I’ll do my bit😉

  2. @ Ubercool – The lyrics will continue then. I do have a huge repertoire of song lyrics in my head – friends have remarked that I have lyrics for every situation. I dunno if thats a good things but it helps me to talk my way out of tight situations too. Me, old? My music collection is older. Now I feel like a granpa who tell lyrics instead of stories. Lol. Your colleagues are curious eh? The Nigerian experience would mesmerize them. Thanks
    @ Sarah – thanks Sarah. I really mean that.

  3. LOL. I like how you don’t take yourself too seriously but at the same time, you present the naija situation/issues with a combination of humor and seriousness too. I’ve def voted for you cos rily even if your own ‘real life’ voice is not unique, the tone used in your blog is.
    I hope you win too. All the best!!!

    http://thespringinmysteps.blogspot.com

  4. @ Stelzz – I try. Writing about it afterwards is easy but it isnt funny when its happening, huh? Thanks for voting for me. Ur blog is awesome as well, I ve been there a couple of times. Nice one.

    @ Anonymous (even if I think I know who you are) – Bon Jovi’s catalogue is impressive, no doubt. But you get the feeling that there was a time they were trying too hard to sing like younger bands to remain relevant. But truth be told, songs like ‘Living On a Prayer” and “Bed Of Roses” are classics. However some of their lesser known material are awesome as well. One of my favourites is Captain Crash and the Beauty Queen from Mars off the Crush album. Ok, I have gone on and on.
    REM? No where close, baby

  5. Do you have a spam problem on this blog; I also am a
    blogger, and I was curious about your situation; we have
    developed some nice practices and we are looking to swap techniques with others,
    why not shoot me an email if interested.

Have a say!

